Christmas Prep Starts Now!

If you haven’t yet, now is the time to start preparing for Christmas. I actually think about Christmas all year and then watch for deals throughout the year on my list of items I am looking for. I don’t mean watch for sales on toys and gifts, I am talking about materials that teach and foster the true purpose of Christmas-relationships. Family relationships and relationships with Christ. Christ came to restore relationships.

Over the next month I will highlight several ideas and traditions we currently do or have enjoyed in the past in my family. Many of the traditions and activities we do are just to foster fun family memories.  If you are wondering what ages these activities are for, this year my children are 5, 4, & 2, but I think these would be fun for older aged children as well.

Two New Activities for This Year:

  1. Christmas Around the World

What better way to teach about differences around the world than to talk about different traditions at Christmas time?

I purchased this book (extremely cheap since I got a used copy) off of Amazon. I also noticed my library has it, so yours might too! This book highlights 12 countries on 1 page each with a full picture on the opposing page. The country highlight briefly goes over facts about the country then talks about some of their most prominent traditions. I plan to read about 1 country during 12 different days in December. `


To accompany the book I also purchased a world map. I have 2 maps in my dinning room that stick to the wall and are dry erase, a United States map and now, a world map. These maps have started many conversations as we talk about where different people live, where we have traveled etc. Each of the 12 days that we highlight a different country’s Christmas traditions I plan to take the children to the map and find the country’s location, we may even draw a picture to represent some of their Christmas traditions on the map (one of the joys of dry erase)!

2. The 12 Days of Christmas and Epiphany

Following Christmas until Epiphany, I plan to celebrate the 12 days of Christmas. I was originally going to go through the book the 12 days of Christmas  and discuss the true meaning behind the song, but I decided to go a different route this year.

This year we will focus on the 12 name of Jesus during these 12 days leading up to Epiphany. Each day following Christmas we will read 1 day from the book What Nick and Holly Found in Grandpa’s Attic, we will listen to the corresponding song on the cd Adore Him and

 We will hang up an ornament representing one of the 12 names of Jesus highlighted in the book. I purchased a small table top tree from salvation army last year that we will hang the ornaments on.

I am excited about incorporating these 2 new traditions with our current Christmas traditions. I am looking forward to building relationships and memories with my family while we learn about Jesus and celebrate his gift to us!

