Finding a Hobby

In my many roles I feel like I spend so much of my life and time giving to others and serving others. As a christian we are called to put others first, to serve, and give, but God also gives us gifts and talents and I believe we are to use these. God also calls us to rest. A hobby can give us rest and time to use the talents God has blessed us with. You can also use your hobbies that you are passionate about to share love with others.

hobby

I have had so many hobbies in my life, I ended up not having time to grow my skills in any one area. I spent some time evaluating what hobbies I enjoyed most, was most talented at, and made the most financial sense. My current hobbies include:

  • Baking
  • Cooking
  • Sewing
  • Reading
  • Gardening
  • Running

Finding Your Hobby

What are you passionate about? Is there something you enjoy? Do you have a bucket list with something you have always wanted to try? Pick one thing, give it a try and see if you want to pursue it. I would recommend considering the start up cost to try a new hobby before deciding which one to begin. Some hobbies have really high start up cost of supplies and some are low. Piano lessons are a great example, while the lessons themselves are relatively inexpensive and could be stopped, you would need a piano or keyboard at home, these are not so inexpensive. Depending on what hobby you are interested in starting, consider checking craigslist for supplies. You can find a variety of items for the home or hobby relatively inexpensive.

Set aside time in your schedule at least 1 day a week that you will devote some time on exploring a hobby or on developing your skills. I write this in my schedule every week so that I do not get distracted by life and forget.

If you have little ones and are wondering when you would ever find time to explore a hobby. You are to busy cleaning or entertaining your little one, check out my thoughts on teaching your little one to clean with you and my thoughts on quiet time.

Loving Others Through Your Hobby

Some hobbies are easier to share than others. I share my baking and cooking by bringing meals to moms who are overwhelmed or have a new baby, I also share this by inviting over families so that we can build relationships as a family. I share my sewing by making gifts for people. I really enjoy sewing baby quilts, I give them as gifts to families who are having their 2nd+ baby. I also often mend clothes for my friends. I share my joy of reading with other women in a book club, our gatherings are a time to build relationships. I share my hobby of gardening by sharing plants with others. I share my love of running by encouraging other moms to run for health, and to join me on their run to build our relationships. There are endless possibilities on how you could share your hobby and passion with others.

